Site Navigation

Wrestling Postseason Awards, All-Ivy Announced

Wrestling Postseason Awards, All-Ivy Announced

Photos courtesy of Cornell and Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Cornell and Princeton swept the Ivy League postseason awards after a vote by the head coaches.

Big Red senior Gabe Dean and Tigers freshman Matthew Kolodzik were unanimously selected Wrestler and Rookie of the Year, respectively, while Cornell head coach Rob Koll and his counterpart at Princeton Chris Ayres shared Coach of the Year honors.

Dean (184 - Lowell, Mich.) earns his fourth-straight unanimous first team selection and third Ivy League postseason award, as he was Rookie of the Year in 2013-14 and Wrestler of the Year in 2014-15. Dean, the top seed at 184 in the upcoming NCAA Championships, is 31-0 on the year, including a 5-0 mark in Ivy action, with 20 wins by fall and 28 coming by bonus points. Dean’s honor marks the ninth-straight year a Big Red has been voted Wrestler of the Year.

Kolodzik (141 - Bellbrook, Ohio) is also seeded at NCAAs, coming in at No. 4 at 141. He earned his ticket to the dance by way of winning the title at EIWAs, improving to 26-2 on the season. Kolodzik is the second Tiger to be named Rookie of the Year and the first to do so unanimously, as Jonathan Schleifer shared the award in 2014-15.

Koll and Ayres share Coach of the Year for the second-straight season, which also marks the third-straight year that Koll has received the award. Koll has guided the seventh-ranked Big Red (13-2, 5-0 Ivy) to its 15th-straight Ivy League title and 11th-straight EIWA title. Ayres has led the Tigers to a 9-8 duals record, including, 4-1 in Ivy action, and a program-best third-place finish at EIWAs. Princeton is sending seven wrestlers to NCAAs, also a program-record.

Cornell and Princeton led the way with four wrestlers apiece on the first team. All four Big Red honorees were unanimously selected, as Dean was joined by freshman Noah Baughman (125 – Doylestown, Ohio), sophomore Brandon Womack (165 – Scottsboro, Ala.) and senior Brian Realbuto (174 – Somers, N.Y.). Dean and Realbuto become the 16th and 17th Ivies all-time to receive four first-team accolades and the seventh and eighth from Cornell.

Princeton, meanwhile, saw three of its four first teamers unanimously chosen in Kolodzik, sophomore Pat D’Arcy (133 – Galloway, N.J.) and senior Jordan Laster (149 – Bolingbrook, Ill.). They were joined on the first team by sophomore Mike D’Angelo (157 – Commack, N.Y.).

Columbia and Penn rounded out the first team. Lions junior heavyweight Garrett Ryan (Scottsdale, Ariz.) was a unanimous selection for the second-straight year, while Penn senior 197-pounder Frank Mattiace (Montville, N.J.) earned his first career All-Ivy honor.

*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Sr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)

*Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton (Fr., 141 – Bellbrook, Ohio)

Rob Koll, Cornell
Chris Ayres, Princeton

*Noah Baughman, Cornell (Fr., 125 – Doylestown, Ohio)
*Pat D’Arcy, Princeton (So., 133 – Galloway, N.J.)
*Matthew Kolodzik, Princeton (Fr., 141 – Bellbrook, Ohio)
*Jordan Laster, Princeton (Sr., 149 – Bolingbrook, Ill.)
Mike D’Angelo, Princeton (So., 157 – Commack, N.Y.)
*Brandon Womack, Cornell (So., 165 – Scottsboro, Ala.)
*Brian Realbuto, Cornell (Sr., 174 – Somers, N.Y.)
*Gabe Dean, Cornell (Sr., 184 – Lowell, Mich.)
Frank Mattiace, Penn (Sr., 197 – Montville, N.J.)
*Garrett Ryan, Columbia (Jr., 285 – Scottsdale, Ariz.)

Ty Agaisse, Princeton (Fr., 125 – Warren, N.J.)
Jimmy Pawelski, Brown (Fr., 133 – Park Ridge, Ill.)
AJ Jaffe, Harvard (Fr., 141 – St. Charles, Ill.)
Jon Furnas, Cornell (So., 149 – Powell, Ohio)
Hunter Ladnier, Harvard (Fr., 149 – Rocky River, Ohio)
May Bethea, Penn (Jr., 157 – Trenton, N.J.)
Ty White, Columbia (Jr., 165 – North Bomoseen, Vt.)
Casey Kent, Penn (Sr., 174 – Norristown, Pa.)
CJ LaFragola, Brown (So., 184 – Little Egg Harbor, N.J.)
Brett Harner, Princeton (Sr., 197 – Norristown, Pa.)
Ray O’Donnell, Princeton (Sr., 285 – Bethlehem, Pa.)

Trey Keeley, Brown (Fr., 125 – Washington, Ill.)
Carl Antrassian, Penn (Fr., 133 – La Salle, Mich.)
Jacob Macalolooy, Columbia (Jr., 141 – Union City, Calif.)
Taylor Simaz, Cornell (Sr., 157 – Fennville, Mich.)
Jon Viruet, Brown (So., 165 – Springfield, Mass.)
Jonathan Schleifer, Princeton (Jr., 174 – East Brunswick, N.J.)
Joe Heyob, Penn (Jr., 184 - Cincinnati)
Ben Honis, Cornell (So., 197 – Syracuse, N.Y.)
Craig Scott, Cornell (Sr., 285 – Palmyra, N.Y.)

*-unanimous selection
^second team expanded to 11 due to ties in the voting