Site Navigation

Four Women's Basketball Teams Earn Postseason Bids

Portions of this story courtesy of Princeton Athletic Communications

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Princeton and Harvard will compete in the Postseason WNIT, while Brown earned a berth to the WBI, giving Ivy League women’s basketball four postseason teams for the first time in conference history.

Penn is the fourth postseason squad after winning the Ivy League Women’s Basketball Tournament to punch a ticket to the NCAA Championship.

The Tigers received the Ivy League's at-large bid to the Postseason WNIT which is given to the highest team in the regular season that does not qualify for the NCAA Tournament. They will host Villanova on Friday. That same day, the Crimson, which earned an at-large bid, will travel to New Hampshire. 
This is the third time that Princeton has been selected to the postseason WNIT. The Tigers became the first Ivy League team to receive an at-large bid in 1996 while picking up their first ever WNIT victory in 2014. It's the eighth-straight season that Princeton will play in a postseason tournament.

Harvard earns its seventh appearance to the Postseason WNIT and fifth in the past six years. The Crimson is looking for its fourth overall win in the WNIT and first since 2014.
First-round action tips off Wednesday, March 15 and concludes Friday, March 17.  Second-round games will run March 18-21, round three goes March 22-24, quarterfinals are March 25-27, and the semifinals will be played March 29-30. The championship game will be played Saturday, April 1 and will be televised live and in HD on CBS Sports Network at 3 p.m. ET. All games are hosted by participating schools.

Brown is the second League squad to earn a WBI berth and first since Penn in 2013. The Bears will play at UMBC on Thursday at 7:00 p.m. 

Brown will make its second-ever appearance in a national postseason tournament. The Bears qualified for the NCAA Championship in 1994 as the Ivy champion in the first year of the League's AQ. Now in its eighth season, the WBI features a 16-team, single-elimination bracket with first round games beginning on Wednesday, March 15 and running through the tournament's championship game, played no later than March 26. All games occur on campus sites.