Site Navigation

Softball All-Ivy, Postseason Awards Announced

Softball All-Ivy, Postseason Awards Announced

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Penn’s Leah Allen and Princeton’s Claire Klausner and Allison Harvey received the Ivy League softball postseason awards following a vote of the Ancient Eight head coaches.

Princeton’s Lisa Van Ackeren was named the Ivy League Coach of the Year—giving the Ivy League champion Tigers 3-of-4 postseason honors. Penn senior outfielder Leah Allen was selected as the Player of the Year, Princeton senior pitcher Claire Klausner was honored as the Pitcher of the Year and Princeton freshman shortstop Allison Harvey was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year.

Allen hit .408 on the season with eight doubles, three triples and nine home runs. She also tallied 27 RBIs and a League-best 34 runs scored and 20 stolen bases. The Woodbine, Md., product ranked second in the League with a .697 slugging percentage and third with 99 total bases. Allen fared even better in conference play, pacing the Ancient Eight with a .429 batting average, 59 total bases, seven home runs, 21 runs scored and 23 RBIs.

Allen is the third Quaker to be recognized as the Player of the Year, joining Christina Khosravi (2006, 2008) and Annie Kinsey (2007).

Klausner compiled an 11-6 record in 19 starts this season, throwing 116.1 innings. She amassed a 3.55 ERA and tallied 4.15 strikeouts per seven innings. The Stanford, Calif., native ranked third in the League with 11 wins and 11 complete games and fourth with 69 strikeouts. In Ancient Eight action, she posted a 7-2 mark in 10 starts with a 3.03 ERA. Klausner was also 1-of-3 pitchers to boast more than four strikeouts per nine innings (4.38) in Ivy competition.

Klausner is the seventh Tiger to be tabbed as the Pitcher of the Year, following Karen Drill (1994), Kris Jelinek (1995), Maureen Davies (1996), Brie Galicinao (2001, 2002), Erin Snyder (2005, 2006) and Kris Schaus (2008).

Harvey hit .323 during her freshman campaign with nine doubles, a triple and three home runs. She also accumulated 32 runs scored, 31 RBIs and 20 walks, which each ranked among the top five in the Ancient Eight. The Foothill Ranch, Calif., product claimed a .404 on-base percentage and a .474 slugging percentage during her first season in the Tiger uniform. In League play, Harvey hit .344. Her six doubles, 14 runs scored and 19 RBIs each ranked among the top 10 in conference action.

Harvey is the eighth Princeton student-athlete to be dubbed Rookie of the Year, joining a group that includes Angela Tucci (1985), Dawn Roberts (1988), Lisa Moore (1991), Maureen Davies (1994), Erin Snyder (2003), Kristen Schaus (2005) and Kathryn Welch (2006).

Fifth-year Tiger head coach Van Ackeren received her second-straight Ivy League Coach of the Year nod, after leading Princeton to back-to-back Ivy League championships and NCAA tournament berths. The Tigers concluded the regular-season 15-5 in League play and 25-18 overall and will open NCAA Tournament action at No. 4 Florida State on Friday, May 19.

Joining Penn’s Allen as a unanimous First Team All-Ivy selection was Princeton senior outfielder Marissa Reynolds (Chehalis, Wash.). Reynolds was 1-of-3 Tiger first-team honorees alongside Klausner and freshman outfielder Megan Donahey (Phoenix, Ariz.).

Quaker senior Alexis Sargent (Alexandria, Va.) was the lone Ivy to be recognized on the First Team at multiple positions, claiming the top honor at pitcher and pitcher/utility.

Dartmouth shared the distinction of three First Team All-Ivy nods with Penn and Princeton. The Big Green were represented by junior catcher Claire Bird, (Rapids City, Ill.), senior second baseman Alyssa Jorgensen (Woodlands, Texas) and senior designated player Karen Chaw (Castro Valley, Calif.).

Harvard and Yale each produced a pair of First Team All-Ivy honorees. Sophomore shortstop Rhianna Rich (El Segundo, Calif.) and junior outfielder Maddy Kaplan (Santa Monica, Calif.) represented the Crimson, while sophomore catcher Madison Sack (Parkland, Fla.) and junior third baseman Allison Skinner (Katy, Texas) were the Bulldog recipients.

Brown junior first baseman Annie McGregor (Carlsbad, Calif.) earned the final First Team All-Ivy accolade. Cornell claimed a pair of Second Team All-Ivy award winners in sophomore catcher Olivia Lam (La Canada, Calif.) and junior outfielder Megan Murray (Alfred, N.Y.), while Columbia fostered a Second Team All-Ivy player in freshman outfielder Sommer Grzybek (Cooper City, Fla.).

Ivy League champion Princeton tallied a League-high six All-Ivy honoress among the two teams.

Leah Allen, Penn (Sr., OF – Woodbine, Md.)

Claire Klausner, Princeton (Sr., P – Stanford, Calif.)

Allison Harvey, Princeton (Fr., SS – Foothill Ranch, Calif.)

Lisa Van Ackeren, Princeton

Alexis Sargent, Penn (Sr., P – Alexandria, Va.)
Claire Klausner, Princeton (Sr., P – Stanford, Calif.)
Claire Bird, Dartmouth (Jr., C – Rapids City, Ill.)
Madison Sack, Yale (So., C – Parkland, Fla.)
Annie McGregor, Brown (Jr., 1B – Carlsbad, Calif.)
Alyssa Jorgensen, Dartmouth (Sr., 2B – Woodlands, Texas)
Allison Skinner, Yale (Jr., 3B – Katy, Texas)
Rhianna Rich, Harvard (So., SS – El Segundo, Calif.)
Maddy Kaplan, Harvard (Jr., OF – Santa Monica, Calif.)
* Leah Allen, Penn (Sr., OF – Woodbine, Md.)
* Marissa Reynolds, Princeton (Sr., OF – Chehalis, Wash.)
Megan Donahey, Princeton (Fr., OF – Phoenix, Ariz.)
Alexis Sargent, Penn (Sr., P/UT – Alexandria, Va.)
Karen Chaw, Dartmouth (Sr., DP – Castro Valley, Calif.)

Kathleen Duncan, Harvard (So., P – Allendale, N.J.)
Erica Nori, Princeton (Sr., P – Weston, Fla.)
Olivia Lam, Cornell (So., C – La Canada, Calif.)
Elizabeth Shively, Harvard (So., C – Dallas, Ga.)
Jurie Joyner, Penn (Jr., C – McDonough, Ga.)
Keeley Walsh, Princeton (So., C – Stevenson Ranch, Calif.)
Olivia Giaquinto, Harvard (Fr., 1B – Falls Church, Va.)
Christina Andrews, Brown (Sr., 2B – Southlake, Texas)
Laina Do, Yale (Sr., 2B – Burbank, Calif.)
Morgan Martinelli, Dartmouth (So., 3B – Morgan Hill, Calif.)
Allison Harvey, Princeton (Fr., SS – Foothill Ranch, Calif.)
Sommer Grzybek, Columbia (Fr., OF – Cooper City, Fla.)
Megan Murray, Cornell (Jr., OF – Alfred, N.Y.)
Lourlin Lara, Dartmouth (Jr., OF – Conroe, Texas)
Shelby Kennedy, Yale (So., OF – Vail, Ariz.)
Francesca Casalino, Yale (Jr., P/UT – Dix Hills, N.J.)
Jurie Joyner, Penn (Jr., DP – McDonough, Ga.)

Madison Canby, Columbia (Fr., P – Pembroke Pines, Fla.)
Breanna Ethridge, Dartmouth (Jr., P – Loganville, Ga.)
Julia Schoenewald, Brown (Sr., C – Jamison, Pa.)
Sarah Cwiertnia, Penn (So., 1B – Villa Park, Calif.)
Kaylee Grant, Princeton (So., 1B – Keller, Texas)
Sam Pederson, Penn (So., 2B – Scottsdale, Ariz.)
Erin Lockhart, Harvard (So., 3B – Lincoln, Neb.)
Madison Gott, Columbia (Jr., SS – Weston, Fla.)
Calista Almer, Dartmouth (Fr., SS – Pollock Pines, Calif.)
Kaitlyn Schiffhauer, Harvard (So., OF – Los Altos, Calif.)
Meghan Wimmer, Brown (So., P/UT – Boothwyn, Pa.)
Bonnie Schipper, Columbia (So., DP – Alexandria, Va.)

*Unanimous Selection
^First & Second Teams Expanded Due To Ties In Voting