Site Navigation

Two Ivies Among 10 Finalist for Men’s Lacrosse Senior CLASS Award

Two Ivies Among 10 Finalist for Men’s Lacrosse Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Brown senior Dylan Molloy and Yale senior Eric Scott were among the ten men’s lacrosse student-athletes to be selected as finalists for the 2016-17 Senior Class Award.

Molloy, the 2016 Tewaaraton Award winner, is the nation’s active leading scorer with 294 career points. The senior attackman is currently the country’s fourth leading goal scorer with 3.11 per game and ranks fifth nationally with 5.22 points per game. Molloy’s 181 career goals are a Brown record and rank 13th in NCAA Lacrosse history. The Setauket, N.Y., native is 22 points shy of becoming Brown’s all-time leading scorer. His 294 career points rank second behind Darren Lowe ’92. A CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2016, Molloy will graduate with a degree in Business, Entrepreneurship and Organizations.

Scott, a senior midfielder, has been a consistent part of the Yale offense registering a point in every game this season. He ranks third on the team with 17 goals and second on the team with 28 points. As a junior, Scott finished with 19 goals and 17 assists, good for third on the team with 36 points. Scott was named to the 2016 All-Ivy League second unit and was a 2017 preseason third-team All-American by Inside Lacrosse. 

Molloy and Scott look to become the sixth Ivy to earn the Senior CLASS Award and fourth-straight, as Princeton’s Tom Schreiber was the recipient in 2014, Cornell’s Connor Buczek earned the honor in 2015 and Brown’s Jack Kelly claimed the honor last season.  

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 20 candidates announced earlier this month. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 9. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse National Championships® in Boston, May 27-29.

Men's Lacrosse CLASS Award Finalists
Christian Burgdorf, Denver
Connor Cannizzaro, Denver
Isaiah Davis-Allen, Maryland
Scott Firman, Syracuse
Michael LeClair, High Point
Dylan Molloy, Brown
Sergio Perkovic, Notre Dame
Austin Pifani, North Carolina
J.D. Recor, Marist
Eric Scott, Yale