Site Navigation

Harvard Takes Commanding Lead After First Round at Men's Golf Championship

Harvard's Greg Royston
Harvard's Greg Royston

Championship Central | Round 1 Results | Round 2 Tee Times

JACKSON, N.J. -- Harvard handled the pleasant but windy conditions at Metedeconk National Golf Club to take a commanding nine-stroke lead after the first round at the 2016 Ivy League Men's Golf Championship.

Harvard put together a score of 292 (+4) in managing the challenging Tournament Course in the League championship's return to Metedeconk for the first time since 2004. Dartmouth (301, +13) sits behind the Crimson and just ahead of the tight grouping that includes Cornell (305, +17) in third, Yale (306, + 18) in fourth and Princeton (309, +21) in fifth.  

Harvard's top four scorers finished among the top eight, paced by sophomore Gregory Royston carding one of the only two even round 72s with Big Green sophomore Ian Kelsey. The defending Ivy League Rookie of the Year recorded five birdies, including two straight to close the round, three bogeys and one double bogey. Royston led a Harvard foursome that included junior Daniel De La Garza and freshman Aurian Capart one stroke behind at 73 (+1) and senior Rohan Ramnath two strokes behind at 74 (+2).

Kelsey set the pace for Dartmouth's solid first day with an even round highlighted by paring six of seven holes with a birdie on the sixth after bogeying the first hole. On the back nine, he rolled in three more birdies contributing to Dartmouth's 12 total birdies.

The eagle landed twice over the first 18 holes -- Yale sophomore Will Berstein on the 505-yard par five sixth and Penn senior Patrick O'Leary on the 518-yard par five 14th.

Berstein's Bulldog teammates combined to post a top-four score with freshman Eion Leonard and junior Jonathan Lai each at 76 (+4) and junior Li Wang and senior Joe Willis each at 77 (+5).

Cornell finished just one stroke ahead of Yale on the strength of play from the Graboyes brothers. Junior Luke Graboyes ended just one stroke off the pace after a birdie-bogey back-to-back to cap his round, while sophomore Mike Graboyes bogeyed four times on the back nine after being at even at the turn.

Round 2 of the 2016 championship gets underway on Saturday at 7:45 a.m.

1. Harvard 292 (+4)
2. Dartmouth 301 (+13)
3. Cornell 305 (+17)
4. Yale 306 (+18)
5. Princeton 309 (+21)
6. Columbia 313 (+25)
7. Penn 319 (+31)
8. Brown
326 (+36)


T1. Ian Kelsey, Dartmouth
72 (E)
T1. Greg Royston, Harvard
72 (E)
T3. Luke Graboyes, Cornell 73 (+1)
T3. Daniel De La Garza, Harvard 73 (+1)
T3. Aurian Capart, Harvard 73 (+1)
T6. John Lazor, Dartmouth 74 (+2)
T6. Michael Davis, Princeton 74 (+2)
T6. Rohan Ramnath, Harvard 74 (+2)
T9. Mert Selamet, Columbia 76 (+4)
T9. Mike Graboyes, Cornell 76 (+4)
T9. Eion Leonard, Yale 76 (+4)
T9. Jonathan Lai, Yale 76 (+4)