Site Navigation

Columbia Wins Men's Golf Championship, Harvard's Lederhausen Wins Individual Title in Playoff

Columbia Wins Men's Golf Championship, Harvard's Lederhausen Wins Individual Title in Playoff

Championship Central | Results | Highlights

SPRINGFIELD, N.J. -- Beginning the day with an 11-shot lead, Columbia had it in cruise-control on Sunday, carding a final round 303 to claim the 2014 Ivy League Men's Golf Championship at Baltusrol Golf Club. 

The Lions had opened up a big lead with an astonishing 276 on Saturday as four players shot par or better. On a breezy Sunday afternoon, Harrison Shih and Brandon Jowers carded rounds of 73 and 75, respectively, to earn first-team All-Ivy honors and set the pace for the Lions.

With a 54-hole score of 881, Columbia claimed the Ancient Eight crown for the first time since 2010 - the last time the tournament was played at Baltusrol. It is their 10th title overall. The score of 881 was the lowest 54-hole winning score since 2009 when Columbia shot 858 at Atlantic City CC. 

Yale finished second, 12 shots back. Harvard was third, 14 shots off the pace. Princeton had the best team round of the day on Sunday, shooting a 297 to move up to fourth place. Brown was fifth, followed by Dartmouth, Cornell and Penn. 

Brown's Nelson Hargrove and Harvard's Theo Lederhausen finished tied atop the individual leaderboard at 215, forcing a playoff. Hargrove posted his number early in the day, then had to wait nearly two hours for the rest of the field. Hargrove shot a 73 on Sunday to maintain the share of the lead that he entered the day with.

Lederhausen posted his final-round 71 about an hour after Hargrove finished, so he was left to wait around for a bit, as well. Jowers had a chance to make it a three-way playoff if he could birdie on 18. But he had trouble with a bunker and then wound up in a hazzard near the creek on the left side and settled for a double-bogey. 

In the playoff, played back at No. 1, Hargrove hit a solid drive down the par-4, 478-yard hole. But then he flew the green with his second shot. Lederhausen's drive found the first cut, but his approach wound-up dead-center on the green. After Hargrove made bogey, Lederhausen made a two-putt for par to become Harvard's first individual champion since Alex Gonzalez in 1998. It is just the second time a Harvard player has won individual honors in the last 37 years and just the fourth since the championship was established in 1975. 

Earning first-team All-Ivy honors were Hargrove, Lederhausen, Jowers, Shih, Yale's Sean Gaudette and Cornell's Carl Schimenti. Second-team honors were earned by Tharusyan Pillay of Columbia, Yale's Sam Bernstein and Joe Willis, Princeton's Greg Jarmas, Penn's Ben Cooley, Dartmouth's Scott Jaster

In a vote of the League's coaches, Bernstein and Jowers shared the League's Player of the Year honor. Harvard's Robert Deng earned Rookie of the Year. 

Columbia as a team and Lederhausen as an individual earn slots into the NCAA Regional field. The field will be announced Monday, May 5 at 10 a.m. on The Golf Channel. Regionals are held at six sites May 15-17. 

Co-Players of the Year: Brandon Jowers, Columbia (Jr. - Shalimar, Fla.) and Sam Bernstein, Yale (Sr. - New York)
Rookie of the Year: Robert Deng, Harvard (Fr. - Irvine, Calif.)

1. Columbia 302-276-303=881 (+41)
2. Yale 300-289-304=893 (+53)
3. Harvard 299-293-303=895 (+55)
4. Princeton 308-300-297=905 (+65)
5. Brown 311-295-302=908 (+68)
6. Dartmouth 299-308-306=913 (+73)
7. Cornell 306-293-315=914 (+74)
8. Penn 302-310-305=917 (+77)

1. Theodore Lederhausen (Harvard) 72-72-71=215 (+5)^
2. Nelson Hargrove (Brown) 70-72-73=215 (+5)^
3. Carl Schimenti (Cornell) 72-70-74=216 (+6)^
4. Brandon Jowers (Columbia) 74-69-75=218 (+8)^
T5. Harrison Shih (Columbia) 77-70-73=220 (+10)^
T5. Sean Gaudette (Yale) 76-69-75=220 (+10)^
7. Ben Cooley (Penn) 73-74-74=221 (+11)#
8. Scott Jaster (Dartmouth) 70-75-77=222 (+12)#
T9. Greg Jarmas (Princeton) 76-78-69=223 (+13)#
T9. Joe Willis (Yale) 76-72-75=223 (+13)#
T9. Tharusyan Pillay (Columbia) 77-69-77=223 (+13)#
T9. Sam Bernstein (Yale) 74-74-75=223 (+13)#

^ First Team All-Ivy
# Second Team All-Ivy