Site Navigation

Columbia, Harvard's Lederhausen Learn NCAA Men's Golf Championship Assignments

Columbia's Brandon Jowers
Columbia's Brandon Jowers

NCAA Selection Announcement

INDIANAPOLIS -- Columbia will be heading to San Antonio and Harvard's Theo Lederhausen will be heading to Auburn, Ala. to participate in the 2014 NCAA Division I Men's Golf Championship Regionals. 

Assignments were announced on Monday for the 91 teams and 45 individuals that earned qualification into the regional tournament. The six sites have either 13 teams and 10 individuals or 14 teams and five individuals. The regional sites are Auburn, Ala., Columbia, Mo., Raleigh, N.C., Sugar Grove, Ill., Euguene, Ore. and San Antonio.

Six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 15-17. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals. The finals will be held May 23-28 at Prairie Dunes Country Club in Hutchinson, Kansas. For the first time in 14 years, the men's championship will have live coverage via The Golf Channel with coverage of the final three days from Prairie Dunes. 

Columbia won its fifth Ivy League Championship on April 27 at Baltusrol, earning the League's automatic bid to the regional tournament. The Lions are headed to an NCAA Regional for the first time since competing in the NCAA East Regional at The Course at Yale in 2010.

Prior to 2010, Columbia made it its first regional appearance in 2008 at the West Regional at the Gold Mountain Golf Club in Bremerton, Wash.

Lederhausen earned a slot as the Ivy League's individual champion, winning on the first playoff hole. He is Harvard's first individual Ivy League champion since 1998.