Site Navigation

IMG's Pyne Named Emcee for Bushnell Cup Presentation

IMG's Pyne Named Emcee for Bushnell Cup Presentation


Courtesy of the National Football Foundation

DALLAS -- The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) and the Ivy League announced today that NFF Board Member George Pyne, the president of IMG Worldwide's Sports & Entertainment Group, will emcee the 2010 presentation of the Asa S. Bushnell Cup, which honors the Ivy League Football Player of Year.

"We are excited to have George Pyne serve as emcee for the announcement of the 2010 Asa Bushnell Cup winner," said Robin Harris, Ivy League Executive Director. "George stands as a shining example of the benefits of playing Ivy League football. He took the foundation that he developed as a Brown student-athlete and turned it into a career that has made him one of the most influential people in sports business today."

As part of the festivities surrounding the 53rd NFF Annual Awards Dinner in New York City, the Asa S. Bushnell Cup presentation will be co-hosted in 2010 by the Ivy League and the NFF. The presentation will take place Monday, Dec. 6, the day before the dinner, at a special reception and press conference in the Hilton Room of the famed Waldorf=Astoria Hotel at 11:30 a.m. The 2010 recipient, whose name will be unveiled at the event, will be joined on stage by his head coach, Pyne, and Harris for the announcement. Others in attendance will include representatives of the media, members of the NFF Board and notable Ivy League alumni and dignitaries.

The Asa Bushnell presentation is an outstanding opportunity for the NFF to celebrate with the Ivy League our common objectives of promoting the scholar-athlete ideal and building leaders through football," said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. "We are proud to participate, and we are grateful to George Pyne for his willingness to play a key role in the event and for his service on the NFF Board."

Pyne, who has served on the NFF Board since 2008, played offensive tackle at Brown University, captaining the 1988 football team and earning All-Ivy League and All-New England honors. Pyne currently leads IMG's global sports and entertainment enterprises, spanning 30 countries and the world's preeminent clients and events. He regularly makes the media's lists of the most influential people in professional sports.

Presented annually since 1970, The Asa S. Bushnell Cup honors its namesake, a 1921 Princeton alumnus and the commissioner of the Eastern College Athletic Conference from 1938 to 1970. The Bushnell Cup is presented by the Eastern Association of Intercollegiate Football Officials and is awarded by a vote of the Ivy League's eight head football coaches to the player who displays outstanding qualities of leadership, competitive spirit, contribution to the team, and accomplishments on the field.

Asa S. Bushnell Cup All-Time Recipient List
1970 - Jim Chasey, QB, Dartmouth & Ed Marinaro#, RB, Cornell
1971 - Ed Marinaro#, RB, Cornell
1972 - Dick Jauron*, RB, Yale
1973 - Jim Stoeckel, QB, Harvard
1974 - Walt Snickenberger, RB, Princeton
1975 -  Doug Jackson, RB, Columbia
1976 -  John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1977 -  John Pagliaro, RB, Yale
1978 -  Buddy Teevens, QB, Dartmouth
1979 -  Tim Tumpane, LB, Yale
1980 -  Kevin Czinger*, MG, Yale
1981 -  Rich Diana*, RB, Yale
1982 -  John Witkowski, QB, Columbia
1983 -  Derrick Harmon, RB, Cornell
1984 -  Tim Chambers, DB, Penn
1985 -  Tom Gilmore*, DT, Penn
1986 -  Rich Comizio, RB, Penn
1987 -  Kelly Ryan, QB, Yale
1988 -  Jason Garrett, QB, Princeton
1989 -  Judd Garrett, RB, Princeton
1990 -  Shon Page, RB, Dartmouth
1991 -  Al Rosier, RB, Dartmouth
1992 -  Jay Fiedler, QB, Dartmouth
1993 -  Keith Elias*, RB, Princeton
1994 -  Pat Goodwillie, LB, Penn
1995 -  Dave Patterson, LB, Princeton
1996 -  Chad Levitt, RB, Cornell
1997 -  Sean Morey, WR, Brown
1998 -  Jim Finn, RB, Penn
1999 -  James Perry, QB, Brown
2000 -  Gavin Hoffman, QB, Penn
2001 -  Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2002 -  Carl Morris, WR, Harvard
2003 -  Mike Mitchell, QB, Penn
2004 -  Ryan Fitzpatrick, QB, Harvard
2005 -  Nick Hartigan*, RB, Brown
2006 -  Jeff Terrell, QB, Princeton
2007 -  Mike McLeod, RB, Yale
2008 -  Chris Pizzotti, QB, Harvard
2009 -  Buddy Farnham, WR, Brown & Jake Lewko, LB, Penn

# Denotes an inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame
* Denotes a recipient of an NFF National Scholar-Athlete Award

The following evening on Dec. 7, the NFF will stage its 53rd Annual Awards Dinner also at the Waldorf=Astoria. As the culmination of the regular season, the NFF Annual Awards Dinner features the presentation of the NFF Major Awards; the induction of the College Football Hall of Fame class from the Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); and the bestowing of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards and the William V. Campbell Trophy.

The 2010 NFF Major Award recipients include renowned entertainer and humanitarian Bill Cosby (the Gold Medal); respected journalist and author Tom Brokaw (the Distinguished American Award, presented by Generational Equity); longtime athletics administrator Joe Kearney (the Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award); former Rutgers athletics director Robert Mulcahy (the John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration) University of California play-by-play announcer Joe Starkey (the Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting); and SEC Coordinator of Officials Rogers Redding (Outstanding Football Official Award).

This year's Hall of Fame class includes Dennis Byrd (North Carolina State); Ronnie Caveness  (Arkansas); Ray Childress (Texas A&M); Randy Cross (UCLA); Sam Cunningham (Southern California); Mark Herrmann (Purdue); Clarkston Hines (Duke); Desmond Howard (Michigan); Chet Moeller (Navy); Jerry Stovall (LSU); Pat Tillman (Arizona State); Alfred Williams (Colorado); and coaches Barry Alvarez (Wisconsin) and Gene Stallings (Texas A&M, Alabama). 

The 2010 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, including Columbia's Alex Gross, was announced Oct. 28. During the NFF Annual Awards Dinner, one member of the NFF National Scholar-Athlete 16-player class will be declared, in dramatic fashion, the winner of the coveted William V. Campbell Trophy, endowed by HealthSouth, as the nation's top scholar-athlete from all divisions of play.