Site Navigation

Baseball All-Ivy, Postseason Awards Announced

Baseball All-Ivy, Postseason Awards Announced

PRINCETON, N.J. -- Columbia's Randell Kanemaru and Julian Bury and Dartmouth's Beau Sulser received the Ivy League baseball postseason awards following a vote of the Ancient Eight head coaches.

Yale's John Stuper was unanimously named the Ivy League Coach of the Year. Columbia junior third baseman Randell Kanemaru was selected as the Player of the Year, Dartmouth senior right-handed pitcher Beau Sulser was honored as the Pitcher of the Year and Columbia freshman outfielder Julian Bury was tabbed as the Rookie of the Year.

Kanemaru hit a League-best .395 on the season with 14 doubles and seven home runs. He also tallied 95 total bases, 35 runs scored and 42 RBIs, ranking among the top three in the League in each category. The Santa Ana, Calif., product also ranked among the top 10 in the Ancient Eight with a .435 on-base percentage and a .625 slugging percentage. Kanemaru fared even better in conference play, hitting .425 with 51 total bases, 11 doubles, 19 runs scored and 20 RBIs.

Kanemaru is the fifth Lion to be recognized as the Player of the Year, joining Garrett Neubart (1995), Henry Perkins (2008), Dario Pizzano (2012) and Gus Craig (2015).

Sulser compiled a 6-1 record in seven starts this season, throwing 45.0 innings. He amased a League-leading 1.40 ERA and tallied 10.40 strikeouts per nine innings. The Santa Ysable, Calif., native ranked fourth in the League with six wins and four complete games. In Ancient Eight play, Sulser posted a 4-1 mark in five starts with a 1.91 ERA. He was the lone Ivy to boast a sub-2.00 ERA overall and in League action.  

Sulser is the fifth Big Green student-athlete to be tabbed as the Pitcher of the Year, following Mike Remlinger (1987), Conor Brooks (2000), Russell Young (2008) and Duncan Robinson (2015).  

Bury hit .333 during his freshman campaign with 14 doubles and 32 runs scored—ranking among the top 10 Ivies in each category. He also accumulated 17 RBIs and 64 total bases. The Mechanicsburg, Pa., product claimed a .408 on-base percentage and a .427 slugging percentage during his first season in the Lion uniform. In League play, Bury hit .363. His 12 doubles, 19 runs scored and 41 total bases each ranked among the top 10 in conference action.

Bury is the fifth Columbia student-athlete to be dubbed Rookie of the Year—and the third over the last four seasons. He joins a group that includes Nick Cox (2008), Dario Pizzano (2010), Will Savage (2014) and this year's Ivy League Player of the Year Randell Kanemaru (2015).

Twenty-five year Bulldog head coach Stuper received his first Ivy League Coach of the Year honor since the award was instituted in 2015. He is the second-straight unanimous Coach of the Year selection after leading Yale to its first Ivy League Championship since 1994 and first NCAA tournament berth since 1993. The Bulldogs concluded the regular season 16-4 in League play and 30-16 overall.

Joining Kanemaru and Sulser as unanimous First Team All-Ivy selections were Penn senior starting pitcher Jake Cousins (West Chicago, Ill.), Columbia senior second baseman Kyle Bartelman (Chicago, Ill.), Brown senior outfielder Rob Henry (Cranston, R.I.), Penn senior outfielder Tim Graul (East Greenwich, R.I.) and Yale sophomore designated hitter Benny Wanger (Newton, Mass.).

Columbia and Brown paced the Ancient Eight with three First Team All-Ivy selections. Kanemaru, Bury and Bartelman were the Lion representatives, while Henry, senior catcher Josh Huntley (Aurora, Colo.) and senior first baseman Marc Sredojevic (Mendham, N.J.) were the Bears recipients.

Cornell and Yale shared the distinction of two First Team All-Ivy nods with Penn—Cousins and Graul. The Big Red were represented by senior relief pitcher Peter Lannoo (Terre Haute, Ind.) and junior shortstop Ryan Krainz (Naperville, Ill.). Sophomore starting pitcher Scott Politz (Austin, Texas) joined Wanger on the first team for the Bulldogs.

Harvard sophomore utility man Patrick Robinson (Melbourne, Fla.) earned the final First Team All-Ivy accolade. Princeton claimed a Second Team All-Ivy award winner in freshman utility player David Harding (Severna Park, Md.).

Ivy League champion Yale tallied a League-high six All-Ivy honorees among the two teams.

Randell Kanemaru, Columbia (Jr., 3B – Santa Ana, Calif.)

Beau Sulser, Dartmouth (Sr., RHP – Santa Ysabel, Calif.)

Julian Bury, Columbia (Fr., OF – Mechanicsburg, Pa.)

* John Stuper, Yale

* Beau Sulser, Dartmouth (Sr., SP – Santa Ysabel, Calif.)
* Jake Cousins, Penn (Sr., SP – West Chicago, Ill.)
Scott Politz, Yale (So., SP – Austin, Texas)
Peter Lannoo, Cornell (Sr., RP – Terre Haute, Ind.)
Josh Huntley, Brown (Sr., C – Aurora, Colo.)
Marc Sredojevic, Brown (Sr., 1B – Mendham, N.J.)
* Kyle Bartelman, Columbia (Sr., 2B – Chicago, Ill.)
Ryan Krainz, Cornell (Jr., SS – Naperville, Ill.)
* Randell Kanemaru, Columbia (Jr., 3B – Santa Ana, Calif.)
* Rob Henry, Brown (Sr., OF – Cranston, R.I.)
Julian Bury, Columbia (Fr., OF – Mechanicsburg, Pa.)
* Tim Graul, Penn (Sr., OF – East Greenwich, R.I.)
Patrick Robinson, Harvard (So., UT – Melbourne, Fla.)
* Benny Wanger, Yale (So., DH – Newton, Mass.)

Christian Taugner, Brown (Sr., SP – Roselle, Ill.)
Paul Balestrieri, Cornell (Sr., SP – West Windsor, N.J.)
Michael Danielak, Dartmouth (Sr., SP – Mt. Prospect, Ill.)
Chris Burkholder, Dartmouth (Sr., RP – Monrovia, Calif.)
Will Simoneit, Cornell (So., C – Glen Ellyn, Ill.)
Patrick McColl, Harvard (So., 1B – Los Altos, Calif.)
Simon Whiteman, Yale (So., 2B – Trumbull, Conn.)
Joe Engel, Columbia (So., SS – Downers Grove, Ill.)
Richard Slenker, Yale (Sr., 3B – Pound Ridge, N.Y.)
Kyle Holbrook, Dartmouth (Jr., OF – Broomfield, Colo.)
Tim DeGraw, Yale (So., OF – Rye, N.Y.)
Harrison White, Yale (Sr., OF – Laguna Niguel, Calif.)
David Harding, Princeton (Fr., UT – Severna Park, Md.)
Liam McGill, Columbia (Fr., DH – Wakefield, R.I.)

Gabe Kleiman, Penn (Jr., SP – New York, N.Y.)
Ian Burns, Columbia (So., RP – Westport, Conn.)
Griffin Dey, Yale (So., RP – Pound Ridge, N.Y.)
Josh Ellis, Harvard (Sr., C – Milton, Mass.)
Matt O'Neill, Penn (So., C – Morristown, N.J.)
Chandler Bengtson, Columbia (So., 1B – Fresno, Calif.)
Michael Ketchmark, Dartmouth (Sr., 1B – Dallas, Texas)
Frankie Padulo, Cornell (Sr., 2B – Los Alamitos, Calif.)
Asher Lee-Tyson, Princeton (Jr., SS – Weston, Conn.)
Tommy Wagner, Cornell (Sr., 3B – Victor, N.Y.)
Sam Grigo, Brown (Jr., OF – Westbrook, Conn.)
Jesper Horsted, Princeton (So., OF – Roseville, Minn.)
Nick Hernandez, Princeton (Sr., OF – Miami, Fla.)
Cameron Deere, Brown (Fr., UT – Los Angeles, Calif.)
Alex Stiegler, Yale (Fr., UT – Dallas, Texas)
Michael Calamari, Dartmouth (Fr., DH – Myrtle Beach, S.C.)

*Unanimous Selection